Home / Learning / Science Topics / Earth Energy / Hot & Steamy NZ / Geothermally-active regions

Geothermally-active regions

New Zealand’s geothermal activity occurs due to high heat flow in the crust along the Pacific – Australian tectonic plate boundary. Volcanoes, hot springs, geysers and fumaroles are all examples of the surface expression of large heat sources beneath the ground. Faults and fractures can act as channels for heat to flow to the surface.

The most well-recognised geothermal area is the Taupo Volcanic Zone - a 100km wide by 350km long volcanic region of the central North Island, abundant with geothermal activity.

However, warm and hot waters are also discharging from springs throughout the country, including Ngawha and Northland, East Cape, the Hauraki and Auckland regions, around Tauranga and along the Alpine Fault in the South Island.

Geothermal heat in these areas can be used for generating electricity and direct heat use applications.

nz map - direct use & electricity

Areas in New Zealand suitable for electricity generation (left) and direct heat use (right).