Home / About Us / Structure & People / Board of Directors

Board of Directors

Nicola Crauford

Nicola Crauford
BSc, PhD, CPEng
(Appointed 1 July 2015) Wellington
Nicola has extensive management and governance experience gained in private and state owned companies. She is a director of Watercare Services Limited, Orion New Zealand, the Environmental Protection Authority, Wellington Water Limited and the Wellington Rural Fire Authority. Nicola is a member of the Local Government Risk Management Agency Establishment Board. She was formerly a member of Transpower's executive team and a director of Genesis Energy.

Sarah Haydon

Sarah Haydon
Deputy Chairman, Chairman of the Audit & Risk Committee
BSc, ACA, MInstD
(Appointed 1 July 2014) Auckland
Sarah is a director of Ports of Auckland Limited and The Co-Operative Bank Limited, the Chairman of Cavalier Corporation Limited and New Zealand Riding for the Disabled Association Inc, a Council member of Unitec Institute of Technology and an Executive Committee Member of Waste Disposal Services. She is a chartered accountant and has worked for BP in the UK and also on international project work, and was CFO at OfficeMax New Zealand. Sarah has an extensive background in planning, finance, general management and organisational development. She has led very large teams of people and has strong HR and people skills.


Professor Steve Weaver
(Appointed 1 July 2010) Christchurch
Steve is Deputy Vice-Chancellor (Research) and former Head of the Department of Geological Sciences at the University of Canterbury. He has held academic appointments at Birmingham, London and Nairobi universities. He is a Fellow of the Royal Society of New Zealand and is a board member of the Canterbury Medical Research Foundation, the New Zealand Brain Research Institute, and REANNZ. Steve has published extensively on the geology of New Zealand, Antarctica and East Africa, specialising in igneous petrology, volcanology, isotope geochemistry, tectonics and environmental science.

Chris Bush

Chris Bush
BE (Chem)(Hons), CMInstD
(Appointed 1 January 2016) New Plymouth
Chris is an experienced oil and gas professional with 30+ years spent in both Upstream and Downstream sectors including roles in New Zealand and overseas.  He runs his own consultancy providing strategy and risk management advice to the energy sector and associated industries, and has particular expertise in health and safety in high hazard industries.  He has held a number of director roles and was previously Chair of the Petroleum Exploration and Producers Association (PEPANZ) and of the Be Safe Taranaki Trust.

John Sharpe

John Sharpe
BSc, MSc (Tech), PhD
(Appointed 1 September 2016) Hamilton
John has held a number of executive leadership and director roles in early- to mid-stage technology companies in NZ and the USA. Trained in the physical sciences, John has spent much of his career developing and commercialising biomedical equipment and other sensor technologies with applications in primary industries, life sciences research, and human health. He has also been involved in state-owned and industry research organisations carrying out science and undertaking business development activities.

Paul White
Paul is from the Ngai Tupoto hapu of Te Rarawa iwi and has had a 30 year background in Maori development and wide experience in the public service. He is currently a management and development consultant and professional director and lives in Rawene in the Hokianga. He is an experienced director serving on a number of boards over the last 15 years including Housing NZ, Canterbury District Health Board, FITEC and the Health Sponsorship Council. He is currently a Director of the lines company, Top Energy Ltd, Ngawha Geothermal Ltd, and Te Rarawa Iwi’s asset holding company, Te Waka Pūpuri Pūtea. Previously he was the Chief Executive of Ngai Tahu Development Corporation, Regional Director for Te Puni Kokiri in Tai Tokerau, and Regional Manager for the Housing Corporation in Northland. Paul is a registered architect and has a Masters in Business Studies. He was also a member of Te Hiku Iwi’s team that successfully negotiated the Te Hiku Claims settlements which were agreed to in 2012.